Chevron Left
Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1 に戻る

コロラド大学ボルダー校(University of Colorado Boulder) による Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1 の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
1,244件の評価
345件のレビュー

コースについて

"Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1" is aimed at learners who are seeking to augment, expand, optimize, and increase the efficiency of their Excel spreadsheet skills by tapping into the powerful programming, automation, and customization capabilities available with Visual Basic for Applications (VBA). This course is the first part of a three-part series and Specialization that focuses on the application of computing techniques in Excel/VBA to solve problems. In this course (Part 1), you will: 1) create macros to automate procedures in Excel; 2) define your own user-defined functions; 3) create basic subroutines to interface with the user; 4) learn the basic programming structures in VBA; and 5) automate Excel’s Goal Seek and Solver tools and use numerical techniques to create “live solutions” to solve targeting and optimization problems. New to computer programming? The extremely intuitive and visual nature of VBA lends itself nicely to teaching and learning - what a fun way to learn to code! No prior knowledge in programming nor advanced math skills are necessary yet seasoned programmers will pick up new and creative spreadsheet problem solving strategies. After you have learned the basics of VBA, each module will introduce foundational and broad problems inspired by situations that you might encounter in the real world. To pass each module, you'll need to pass a mastery quiz and complete a problem solving assignment. This course is unique in that the weekly assignments are completed in-application (i.e., on your own computer in Excel), providing you with valuable hands-on training....

人気のレビュー

MS

Jan 27, 2018

Great course! I like it goes straight to implementation and is practice-oriented. What could be improved maybe is sound quality of lectures. And maybe it would be great to have some VBA notes in pdf.

LR

Jul 05, 2018

I'm not one to write reviews - this course is fantastic and a game changer. Prof Nuttelman is a very engaging speaker and makes what could seem a very dry topic come across as interesting, fascin

フィルター:

Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1: 326 - 345 / 345 レビュー

by Ponciano R

Mar 27, 2018

Great course, wish it would be a little slower paced but it´s ok

by Rodolfo P L

Feb 22, 2018

The screencasts are very clear and concise but the assignments were too easy. I would suggest adding some assignments related with finance (e.g., bond calculators and portfolio optimization problems).

by Aeriel N S

Jun 22, 2018

The course was a great refresher for me since I haven't used VBA in quite a while and everything was clearly explained. Although at first I was overwhelmed since some of the examples were leaning on formulas, I was still able to understand all of it because of how Charlie explained everything in an easy manner.

by CHAN, B K

Aug 02, 2018

Relatively easy, I cleared 3 weeks within 2 hours, and completed the whole module in less than 3 days. I did not spend more than 5 hours each of the 3 days. The honors exercise was interesting.

by viktor k

Sep 05, 2018

Very good introductory course in VBA. I have used much of what i have learned in this course to automate certain procedures that me and my team members are using in our gas turbine industry, customer support engineering day to day activities. VBA enabled me to automate these procedures and minimise human induced errors, and generate effortlessly and rapidly a number of solutions to certain straightforward engineering tasks.

by Vasili E M

Sep 20, 2018

You learn a lot here. Highly recommened. It will challenge you!

by Haydn S

Apr 16, 2019

Great course. Well explained and easy to follow. Some of the assignments could be a bit more specific in what is required (e.g. calling a function within another function - rather than writing out code in the second function). But all things considered, highly recommended.

by Jesse

Jul 24, 2019

Good and relevant instruction

by Siddhesh

Aug 11, 2019

the course is greate. only suggestion is, please give access to assignments and homework problems for audit also.

by Nachum S

Jul 14, 2019

Amazing course. Only problem is that the assignments are very hard to get right because you need to do it perfectly

by Grégoire P

Sep 08, 2019

Very good teaching by Prof. Nuttelman, who explains new notions very clearly. On the improvement side, I would perhaps suggest adding a few exercises to vary a bit the problems students have to solve.

by Ryan

Jun 13, 2019

Great course. Week 4 is particularly more difficult than the preceding sections. The VBA cheat sheet is very useful for Weeks 1-3, but could be improved to help explain different For Loop structures and common errors when building a For Next Loop. Thank you Dr. Nuttelman.

by Nikoline M

Sep 20, 2019

Very good introduction to VBA, however ever a bit math heavy for someone working in business, and haven't used algebra since college. Would still recommend.

by Michael R

Oct 31, 2018

I thought the course was excellent. Good level of challenge, well structured and paced. I think the hard test thresholds to progress to the next stage each week are really valuable and encourage revision. There are probably a few developments required to help the user overcome the silly mistakes and oversights that block successful execution of a coding problem or question. Get that worked out and I really think it's going to be really hard to sell this kind of tuition through a bricks and mortar campus.

by Malavika D

Aug 28, 2019

Excellent course to dive into VBA. I found the assignments particularly useful. Module 5 is a big bonus!!

by Richard C

Feb 19, 2019

Nice intro to the basics of VBA. The biggest problem with this introduction is that I don't know what I don't know. The course could have benefited from a discussion of how VBA is used in the workplace by enterprises, and what skills students should learn to quickly become competent. The reason that content was not presented is that Dr. Nuttelman simply does not know the answer to that question, as his background is in academia and engineering. He is working on amassing a set of case studies from students who have graduated, but it doesn't sound like a priority as the course is almost two years old and the content has not been updated with these examples.

by Leonardo M

Apr 30, 2018

I would have given it 5 stars but there's too much math. It should focus more on the programming than math.

by Michael G

May 16, 2019

This was an EXCELLENT course. Although I have previous programming experience (I was already familiar with loops and conditional structures), I found the course very informative. I also think it is an excellent introduction for students with little or no programming experience. The instruction, examples, and explanations were clear and informative. I will be recommending the course to others who could benefit from it. Thank you Professor Nuttelman for a great course.

NOTE: I reserve five stars for courses that are so good they defy description. It would be rare for me to give a course five stars. A four-star rating from me indicates an excellent course in all material respects. (And only refers to the content - not the Coursera environment.)

by Amrane S

Oct 25, 2019

Missing some help when we blocked on the assignement

by Raffaele M

Jun 15, 2018

Lots and lots and lots of errors, in the slides, in the speech, and also in the quizzes (with the author writing ("I need to fix that"). Part 5 really interesting.