Chevron Left
The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1) に戻る

ウェズリアン大学(Wesleyan University) による The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1) の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
854件の評価
233件のレビュー

コースについて

This course examines how the idea of "the modern" develops at the end of the 18th century in European philosophy and literature, and how being modern (or progressive, or hip) became one of the crucial criteria for understanding and evaluating cultural change. Are we still in modernity, or have we moved beyond the modern to the postmodern?...

人気のレビュー

NM
2016年1月7日

One of the best professors i've ever come across! If the teacher is so passionate about the subject material as well as conveying the ideas, the course will be excellent. This is one of those courses.

JR
2019年8月1日

It was a fabulous journey, and brought me so much nearer to the great minds of the 18th and especially the 19th century, reading original texts, and listening to Prof Roth's wonderful interpretations.

フィルター:

The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1): 226 - 231 / 231 レビュー

by Deleted A

2016年3月1日

Interesting start to week 1, looking forward to week 2.

by Rayser R

2020年9月30日

The course is the equivalent of a first year survey course. However, I have two honours degrees from Canadian universities and a community college diploma and have taught for many years. In all of my educational experience I have rarely come across a professor who is as difficult to listen to or attend to than Professor Roth. He has the mannerisms of a nervous man who is thinking well ahead of what he is saying and is making up his points as he goes. He stammers perpetually and many of his sentences contain numerous repetitions and often end without completing a thought. I tried to read the transcripts of the videos instead to spare myself the aggravation of listening to him, but the transcripts are a hopeless shamble of typos, misspellings, and nonsense. Here is an example of what I mean. "Morality is an expression of power. And in the first essay of the Genealogy of Morals, which is an account of, of, of morality, you've only been assigned the second essay. In the first essay, he says, it, it, he does say that morality is an expression power but is really perverse in the west." Here is another example: “You, because society's the ultimate creditor. And a strong society is a society that can say, you know, forget about it. You know? You, you, you did something really bad, you're at Wesleyan, you get 2 points. [laugh] 4 points now, right? You just[UNKNOWN] points.”

In short the course is moderately informative and interesting but destroyed by the presentation.

by Sang Y D

2016年3月25日

I advice NOT to take this course.

Why: the professor is never there to read your assignments. He leaves that totally to other students like yourself, to grade your written assignments, and, they do not read and give you a RANDOM grade in 2 seconds.

Don't take it, you will waste sooo much time on this one.

by Michael N R

2016年6月13日

Not as advertized and way too much peer rating stuff--we do all the work the instructor does little or none--too much peer raqting stuff which I despise. And there seems to be no way to un-enroll.

by Paul M

2017年4月20日

Only one star as it was not made clear you could also get 1/5 points in assignments noted as ties but no further explanation. I don't think I will bother with part 2

by Deleted A

2020年8月8日

very bad