Chevron Left
The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1) に戻る

ウェズリアン大学(Wesleyan University) による The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1) の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
853件の評価
233件のレビュー

コースについて

This course examines how the idea of "the modern" develops at the end of the 18th century in European philosophy and literature, and how being modern (or progressive, or hip) became one of the crucial criteria for understanding and evaluating cultural change. Are we still in modernity, or have we moved beyond the modern to the postmodern?...

人気のレビュー

NM
2016年1月7日

One of the best professors i've ever come across! If the teacher is so passionate about the subject material as well as conveying the ideas, the course will be excellent. This is one of those courses.

JR
2019年8月1日

It was a fabulous journey, and brought me so much nearer to the great minds of the 18th and especially the 19th century, reading original texts, and listening to Prof Roth's wonderful interpretations.

フィルター:

The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1): 51 - 75 / 231 レビュー

by Pam P

2021年6月4日

I​ am writing a book about a woman who wrote a memoir in 1926 and want to be more conversant with intellectual history as I do it. This class was a big help. I started Part II before I realized there was a part I, and now shall continue and complete Part II.

by ANUSHKA M

2020年7月10日

The course is highly interesting and the topics chosen paint a fairly detailed picture of the era of enlightenment nad the philosophers in modern Europe. The assignments are interesting and I thoroughly enjoyed myself studying the various books and essays.

by Andrea E

2015年9月23日

I absolutely loved the course content and the style of the instructor.

The only feedback I'd extend is more variety in the writing assignment prompts, and a little more specificity in the quiz wording. Some of the questions seemed phrased in an unclear way.

by Sumor S

2017年2月18日

i learned what I thought I would learn and more! Plus, the other students are really inspiring. It is a great feeling to get a glimpse of how many other people are interested in the same subjects and also write. Great Professor and a great class!

by Lola R M

2021年6月26日

This course is well planned and well paced. I feel like I learned a lot from the readings and the very engaging video lectures. This was my first Coursera course and it left me feeling very positively about taking courses online in this format.

by Nivedita F

2020年9月8日

Extremely helpful to build a theoretical background for art and architecture. Prof. Michael Roth has a very good way of explaining things in very simplistic terms. I found the course to be devoid of jargon, very simplified and very elaborate.

by Lewis H

2019年5月2日

Fantastic course. I really appreciate the instructor's attention to detail and narrative ability. The topics covered in this class were diverse and interesting. I will certainly be signing up for the second part of this course.

by Yesha B

2017年1月19日

The classes were interesting. Activities and assignments were very innovative and helped me to get idea about Modernism and Postmodernism. The best part was getting reviews from peers. I really enjoyed learning in this course.

by APOORVA S R

2021年2月16日

The course was very well designed and the curriculum touched upon major events of the era under study. The passion with which Prof. Roth taught the course was inspiring and listening to the lectures was extremely insightful.

by FARAH K

2020年9月17日

Michael S. Roth is such an inspirational tutor, his command over the course contents and effective delivery was the highlighting feature of this course. I truly recommend this course and enjoyed learning throughout 7 weeks.

by Leanne C

2017年3月21日

Thoroughly enjoyed this course. Instructor has an engaging way about him and makes the subject matter clear in the lectures. Essay-work was thought-provoking and forced critical analysis about research and reading material.

by LEE X E

2020年6月22日

It is a great course and a nice lecturer to help people to reflect the world now as well as getting exposed to many great artworks and thoughts that may lead you to a new experience in questioning the modernity. Have fun!!

by Johanna N

2016年2月11日

A truly inspiring, engaging course. I really appreciate the interdisciplinary nature and Mr. Roth's enthusiasm and humor. He is also very good at explain potentially very difficult subjects. I LOVE the inclusion of art and

by Raquel O d

2016年11月13日

This is a delightful course, despite of its complexity. You can follow the discussion and very good explanation without much difficulty, because the professor guide in a clearly and objective way. I really enjoyed it ;)

by Eliana K

2021年2月14日

It has been a great journey to the world of philosophy and art of 18th-19th century. Proffesor Michael S. Roth is a great lecturer who knows how to keep learners attention throughout the course. Thank you so much.

by Serkan B A

2019年6月4日

It might be one of the best courses I've ever taken online. There were some minor errors in English subtitles, and to be honest, I hate peer-review system, but overall, it was great! Would definitely recommend it.

by ivan l a

2020年8月23日

Disfruté muchísimo de las clases del notable profesor Roth y de las lecturas asignadas. Es un curso que te estimula intelectualmente y genera deseos de seguir leyendo los autores estudiados. Me encantó.

by D S

2018年1月31日

Best course and professor I have taken at Coursera, since Demystifying Mindfulness (which is #1).

Really liked Prof Roth, and appreciate his continued emails after the course via Mentor connections.

by César F G

2020年7月20日

Un curso completamente excepcional. Estuve realmente meditando y las lecturas son absolutamente bien elegidas para la reflexión, la memoria histórica y la belleza literaria. Muchísimas gracias.

by Jente L

2020年10月9日

I enjoyed this course very much. The lectures are incredibly interesting and Roth's passion and enthusiasm about the subjects make the lectures very enjoyable. Would very much recommend.

by Jessica W

2017年4月24日

An excellent introduction to Modernism that spans disciplines. The enthusiasm and humour of Michael Roth ensures parts of the course that might be difficult or dull are far from it.

by Anne F

2015年9月18日

I love this course. The enthusiasm of the teacher is wonderful. His choice of works and their treatment are excellent. I learned a lot, even though I have an MA in Literary Studies.

by Valentin D

2015年9月6日

I've not finished this course yet, but I found it to be excellent, the content is important to understand, the teacher is clear and I enjoy listening to him. I really recommend it.

by Marina C

2020年12月9日

Studying these subjects independently is exactly what I was looking for, although I expected more focus on Postmodernism authors such as Baudrillard, Foucault, Giles Deleuze, etc.

by Munif M

2020年6月18日

A great course! Thanks to Prof. Roth and his university for conducting such a wonderful course. Really, helped me a lot. Can't wait for "The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 2)."