Chevron Left
Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors に戻る

ペンシルベニア大学(University of Pennsylvania) による Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
878件の評価
227件のレビュー

コースについて

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

人気のレビュー

LL

Mar 09, 2016

Good intro to early Greek philosophy. Dr Meyer has a simple and subtly humorous approach to the material. Dr Meyer makes the subject approachable so that the student wants to do further reading.

YY

Apr 02, 2019

I was always wanted to know things on Ancient Philosophy, This course has an over all understanding for Plato's work and his students with their different prospective on him and his philosophy.

フィルター:

Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors: 76 - 100 / 219 レビュー

by John D

Mar 11, 2016

The best Coursera course I've taken thus far. Dr. Meyer is an excellent lecturer and the reading selections are excellent.

by Robert C C

Apr 01, 2019

Though I don't like doing peer-reviews or peer-reviewed assignments, overall this was an interesting course. Thank you.

by David O

Mar 16, 2016

Very good and well presented course. Interesting concepts and materials. I thoroughly enjoyed the learning experience.

by Sylvia H K

Jun 20, 2016

Very fine lectures on Plato and the visions of those philosophers that went before him. I've learned a lot of it.

by Astra A K

Jun 20, 2016

it was absolutely DELICIOUS!!!!! This was a very well organized, well conceived course, i thoroughly enjoyed it!

by Lisa ( C

Feb 12, 2018

Excellent course. Broken into logical sections with great videos and tests to check your knowledge. Thank you!

by Patrick K

Jun 09, 2017

Very enjoyable overview of PreSocratic thought and how it pertains to Plato's own works. Highly recommended!

by Diane N

Mar 06, 2016

Great course for the introduction of Socrates and all of the other great Philosophers, I enjoyed this class.

by Chew R

Jan 14, 2019

Delivery of course is very clear and concise and had a very enjoyable and insightful learning experience.

by Benson H

Aug 03, 2018

Beautifully organized, crystal clear, this is a phenomenal introduction to the Pre-Socratics and Plato.

by Andrea V

Dec 18, 2017

Excelente curso. Solo queda agregar la traducción en español y poder bajar las lecciones en pdf o html.

by Ferlin P

Feb 19, 2016

This course does a great job at supplementing my University studies. Really high quality intro content.

by Jose A G R

Sep 16, 2017

very helpfull and atractive course, lots of information and access to material to help understand it.

by Yifei W

Aug 18, 2019

Really love this course! Very comprehensive coverage of Plato's theories and significant works. :)

by Oscar I D C

Jan 18, 2018

Beautiful course. It made me inquire about things like I never did before. I enjoyed It very much.

by Eduardo S P

Mar 11, 2016

I really enjoyed this course, the topics were fascinating and the explanations were very clear.

by George C M

Mar 24, 2016

Well structured course that gives an excellent background to the basis of ancient philosophy.

by Charles E M

May 08, 2018

The Professor is quite interesting and this is the second course I have taken under her lead

by Cees O

Dec 06, 2019

I was impressed by the quality of the teachings and especially the instructor: excellent!!

by Dimitris P

Sep 01, 2016

An excellent introductory course to Plato. Gave me great insights to his works. Thank you!

by Juan L P B

Feb 24, 2019

Aprendí mucho con éste curso recomendable para quien se interese por la filosofía.

by Sergey A

May 13, 2018

Short but well thought and coincide class for Plato and presocratics philosophy.

by Paul C

Mar 09, 2017

Excellent. Clear and accessible explanation of the Plato's forms and shadows.

by Rense L

Mar 30, 2016

Excellent professor, good presentation. Some quizzes are too short, really ...

by mansurni a

Mar 16, 2016

awesome course

from this course i understand deeper about philosophy of greece