Chevron Left
Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions に戻る

ペンシルベニア大学(University of Pennsylvania) による Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,079件の評価
275件のレビュー

コースについて

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this first part--part one of five--you will extend your understanding of Taylor series, review limits, learn the *why* behind l'Hopital's rule, and, most importantly, learn a new language for describing growth and decay of functions: the BIG O....

人気のレビュー

YG

Jul 03, 2018

Very well structured for a refresher course. Thank you Professor Ghrist for your effort in putting this course together. A little additional outside research was required but well worth the effort.

RH

Dec 16, 2016

Excellent class. Prof. Ghrist has a great teaching style, and his idea to use Taylor Series first is quite effective. Many functions I have shied away from in the past are now familiar to me.

フィルター:

Calculus: Single Variable Part 1 - Functions: 251 - 270 / 270 レビュー

by Weinan H

Jul 14, 2017

The course is intriguing. More practice questions and explanations will be good. And it will be beneficial if it can provide extra background knowledge (or link) for further study.

by Jaspreet S

Jan 25, 2016

very good learning process

by Johannes M

May 20, 2016

Very good!

by Aditya T

Jun 25, 2017

good

by Javier V L d M

Nov 04, 2017

El curso fue muy interesante, la metodología fue clara y las explicaciones por parte del profesor fueron muy organizadas y coherentes. Pienso que en la función O grande hizo falta profunidzar y ejemplificar un poco más. Felicitaciones

by Anna G

Aug 07, 2017

A good course but quire difficult and definitely requires a strong calculus foundation. The weird rhythm of the professor speaking is somewhat distracting.

by Krishna P R

Jun 20, 2018

I have taken a calculus course at university which dealt with the epsilon-delta definition of things. Enjoyed the different approach as well, keep up the good work!

by aihui

Jan 06, 2018

The lecture provides a different view on calculus compared to the similar lecture during my university and this lecture is much better absolutely. I can still remember the suffering when i took my calculus course even though that was 5 years ago! I've got some confidence back in math and thanks for this lecture.

by Mohammad H

Mar 22, 2018

a good and neat course, I used it for reviewing and it went well

by Harshavardhan

Feb 26, 2018

The lectures on Big O (growth rates) are way too hard to comprehend, compared to the rest of the lectures. Please do try to simplify them.

by Roshan N

Sep 24, 2018

Very Tough Part

Learn lots of things that I never know before

Thank You

by Dmitry P

Oct 07, 2018

That's is really hard course. I think lecturer gives not enough information for doing homework. For example: big-O notation confuse me and I learn a lot of materials from another universities from web. Single web page for help that recommented in course is broken.

by Yashh S K

Nov 29, 2018

Everything was exceptionally well taught except the Big-O part.

by german l

Sep 02, 2019

Excelente curso para volver a repasar los conceptos de calculo que estudiamos en la universidad.

by Suyash M

Mar 18, 2019

Very good course for revisiting calculus. It never feels old as it tackles functions and limits from a different perspective - that of the Taylor Series. But it is mostly concerned with evaluating limits and series. Some things were assumed to be true without explanation, which, I admit, might have made understanding them easier. But it slightly chafes the mind to know something without knowing proof for it, and how it came to be. Some questions that may arise but remain unanswered in the lectures include : How to find the domain of convergence of a series? Where did the Taylor's Series formula come from? These and some more are not addressed in this course, but they might be in the future chapters (which I have not completed)

by Saad M S M K

Jan 16, 2016

very defcult

by Emil E H

Feb 15, 2016

The lecturer wasn't very engaging. I gave up and continued with Ohio's Calculus course instead.

by james.v

Jul 17, 2019

Lot of gab between video lecture and assignment problems

by Ashkan R

Feb 05, 2016

Calculus isn't that LONG!! you can divide it into 2 courses, not 4, namely single- and multi- variable(s).

by Omar A K

Aug 02, 2017

Easy if you consider the fact that I learned the proper definition of the limit before differentiation and before (of course) any presentation of the Taylor series, with the proper integral rest of course, french mathematical education is not that bad after all.