Chevron Left
The History of Modern Israel - Part I: From an Idea to a State に戻る

テルアビブ大学(Tel Aviv University) による The History of Modern Israel - Part I: From an Idea to a State の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
717件の評価
207件のレビュー

コースについて

How did the State of Israel come to be? How is it that an idea, introduced in 19th century Europe, became a reality? And how does that reality prevail in the harsh complexities of the Middle East? Presented by Professor Eyal Naveh, with additional units from Professor Asher Sussers' "The Emergence of the Modern Middle East" course, This course will take you on a journey through the history of Modern Israel. In this 1st part of the course we will explore: How did the 19th century idea of a Jewish state become a reality? So the next time you hear about Israel in the news, you will be informed enough about the history of this area to comprehend the many sides and narratives that interact to shape the complex reality of Israel today. Please note that there is a second part to this course "The History of Modern Israel - Part II: Challenges of Israel as a sovereign state" which is a direct extension of this part. We highly recommend to continue to the second part after you finish this one (https://www.coursera.org/learn/history-israel-sovereign-state). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool * This course is a joint effort of Tel Aviv University & Israel Institute (www.israelinstitute.org) * This course uses media material from various archives, courtesy to Yad Vashem Archive for their help. * This course is self-paced. Once you register, you can participate in the course anytime, as often as you wish and over any stretch of time...

人気のレビュー

TA
2019年9月26日

"The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State" is a time demanding course for all of us nowadays to know the real history of modern Israel. Thanks Coursera for the such opportunity.

SS
2020年9月29日

It gave me more insight for me about Israel history. The tutors explained it in a simple way, although some parts of the materials were a little bit difficult to understand

フィルター:

The History of Modern Israel - Part I: From an Idea to a State: 176 - 200 / 206 レビュー

by Shi Y

2016年2月8日

good for people who wanna know the brief. would be better with more details and sorties

by Christopher T C

2016年1月17日

Very good class though at times it could be hard to hear some of the audio lessons

by Varun N

2020年5月26日

Good one for those interested in Israel and the larger politics of Middle East

by Sandra O

2015年11月21日

The teaching for this class is 1st rate. Much information and nuances given

by Julen B

2017年10月19日

Really interesting but sometimes it is difficult to follow the translation.

by Teymur S

2016年2月11日

There is a problem with subtitles.Sometimes they are different from speech.

by Mike J

2015年11月11日

Interesting course, but rather too short and not going very deep

by Leonel C

2020年8月15日

A good, even if short, historical review

by Steven Z P

2016年11月19日

a bit tedious but lots of information

by Idan F

2016年3月23日

Great way to learn. Tests are to hard

by Constance

2018年5月20日

good to learn about the history

by INGRID T H

2017年7月29日

It is a good course.

by Reinaldo V d C

2016年10月20日

good

by Michael G

2017年7月7日

V

by Stephen H

2016年2月27日

Good, concise course.

The reason I didn't give it a higher rating is because I found it difficult (not impossible) to follow some of professor Eyal Naveh speach. His first language is not English, so I do not expect him to speak perfect English. However, I would expect the subtitles/transcript not to have basic mistakes. This became important when professor Naveb interview another person in Hebrew, as I found I could not really trust the subtitles.

I think it wouldn't take much to make it an excellent course.

My cheeky suggestion is to have a specialisation with The Emergence of the Modern Middle East by Professor Asher Susser as nucleus and a series of shorter, more in depth courses on certain of the bigger countries, such as Egypt, Turkey and Iran, similar to this one on Israel.

by Alan M D

2021年5月22日

This course is Part 1 of four hours and Part 2 is 12 hours a total of 16 hours. This should ONLY BE ONE COURSE of 16 hours! A significant proportion of this course is also given by Professor Asher Susser and the material he provides is EXACTLY THE SAME as for part of his Emergence of the Middle East, Part 2 I believe. In other words, this is a RIP-OFF! I already paid for Prof Susser's excellent teaching and although I enjoyed most of Part 1, it should all be new material and not mixed with old stuff I have paid for twice. I think Tel-Aviv University is trying to make students pay double and should be ashamed of themselves.

by Raina B T

2020年5月27日

I feel that the course provided good information, but the quiz and test were too difficult. The quiz and test required knowledge not taught in the course, and the questions were hard to understand. The question issue is probably because of the language barrier, so that didn't bother me as much as the information on the quiz not being present in the course itself.

by Avi D

2019年3月3日

Thank you very much

It's a very interesting course but I feel it was only an introduction to introduction.

This subject should be with more information and should be organized in more than just 3 lessons

Why not a full semester course of 12 lessons or more!

by Andrea Y T

2020年11月25日

No material is provided with the course.

It is difficult to consolidate the acquired knowledge without literature and references.

The instructors exposed the topics in a clear and fascinating way.

by Karam E

2019年3月17日

you can get an overview of the events not a balanced details about the conflict.it is bias and hold false preconceptions.

by SHALABHA S

2020年6月16日

quite informative and comprehensive. Explained well enough for laymen to understand irrespective of prior knowledge.

by NL

2020年5月17日

Course had a great structure but the professor's translation from Hebrew to English has room for improvement.

by Ólafur T Y

2017年7月28日

Nice course, although I do not understand the need for having 2 lectures in Hebrew.

by Tamara O

2018年3月17日

there was no discussion and there weren't enough question.