Chevron Left
The Data Scientist’s Toolbox に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による The Data Scientist’s Toolbox の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
20,689件の評価
4,135件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
ハイライト
Foundational tools
(243件のレビュー)
Introductory course
(1056件のレビュー)

人気のレビュー

LR

Sep 08, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

AI

Apr 24, 2018

This course was a good intro especially in setting all the necessary software for future courses. I suggest to read the manuals, books and other readings the profs suggest. The resources are helpful.

フィルター:

The Data Scientist’s Toolbox: 3926 - 3950 / 4,013 レビュー

by Brendan L

Mar 28, 2017

Very basic course, I was able to complete the 4 weeks on content in a weekend. I would recommend skipping this module and moving directly to the R Programming course.

by Tarik G

Apr 28, 2018

I can see that the lecturer's intention was giving an overview by mentioning all different topics, however, it just got me confused. I wish it was more into a solo topic. It would be great if it was given only git/github lectures, so we, the students, can be more comfortable when it comes to uploading files in the following courses. I see in the discussion forums that github is a problem for most of the students in the forums.

by Daniel J R

Jun 20, 2018

Not very engaging videos. Superficial introduction to the mechanics of some tools without providing much context. Final submission did not work per video explanation. Need a more engaging presenter. Not quite at the level of Prof. Ng's Machine Learning course which I realy enjoyed and learned a lot from.

by Luis C

Mar 24, 2019

it is a good course but need to show more examples of R. the course should show more empirice examples of the functions of R.

by ping c

Apr 09, 2019

The video wasn't very effective.

by Illan W

Jun 05, 2019

Lectures are ridiculously boring, especially without having any video cam component to bring stimulation to the class.

by Shyam D

Jun 27, 2019

exercises given don't follow the course line

by Rose G

Jul 11, 2019

Not that interesting, but gives you the basis to install R and git

by Eric J S

Aug 06, 2019

Very basic course. Poorly motivated, material presented without an effort to demonstrate why. This is not entirely out of place in this intro course, but it permeates the entire program. Difficulty poorly controlled, projects and quizzes much more advanced than lectures.

by Daniel P

Sep 09, 2019

In my opinion, the content of this course is too basic and little bit of topic for the data scientist specialization. Of course it is useful to be able to use git, shell etc. but I believe that most of the people already know those and the rest of the students can be redirected to relevant study material. All in all, there was about 90 minutes of relevant study in this course.

by John B

Nov 12, 2018

Horrible explanation regarding push and pull requests. Would not recommend this course to my friends.

by Самойленко К В

Jan 08, 2019

A lot of common information, no real examples. may be OK os introdaction, but for scilled student useless. Bunch of very short videos — I'd prefer to see it as a text tutorial

by Lia L

Feb 19, 2019

I really don't like the automated videos.

by Diego V B P

Mar 11, 2019

"You passed this course! Your grade is 100.00%."

I feel like I have not learned much.

Even though I have taken 100%, as you can see above, the course tackles very little programming. And the final project, it asks to do some activities, but when looking at the forum, I saw that what was talked about, had a level of knowledge that the course had not taught. But worst of all, was receiving financial help from 1/9 courses. Would not it be for the whole course? They are complementary. What will I do with 1 certified course, which as you can see my complaint above, I have not learned anything?

by Thomas V

Dec 15, 2018

For beginners

by eduardo

Oct 04, 2018

Low quality, I didn't learn anything really.

by George K B

Aug 05, 2018

A lot of information without practice

by Ivan Y

Oct 26, 2017

The course contains almost no valuable information. It is not required to spend 4 weeks for it.

by AUNG K

Dec 02, 2016

Not worth 29$ considering you could take away very little from this course.

by Deleted A

Jun 12, 2017

The first week has one assignment: a five question quiz that reviews the syllabus, course/program design and purpose. As someone with multiple degrees and a PhD significant other - both of us work, and are successful, in data analysis and research. My career is centered around Business Intelligence. I was hoping to engage a program that would help me develop R programming skills and build my skill set. After watching all the videos twice, taking notes, completing almost five hours of online research into the topics that I encountered during my first attempt at the quiz, having my significant other review the topics & questions with me, I still failed to pass the quiz after ten attempts. Hence, a syllabus quiz is my roadblock to moving forward in the program. This is not pride, I am not imagining myself to be a genius who is insulted by this failure. Frankly, no one is stupid enough to have not been able to comprehend a syllabus and course desi

by Isaac A G

Apr 23, 2016

It has almost no content and isn't actually useful. I've heard later classes in the series are way tougher, so the ramp up isn't at all good.

by Alexandru B

Feb 01, 2016

Very short and just a basic overview on how to install a few tools that most of them I already had installed. All this course content could be packed into an introductory lesson instead of having to pay for it. I abandoned the specialisation because of this, I know it's a big business but at least you need to offer some value for the money

by Luke S

Jun 04, 2016

Way too basic for the price - almost no content - this is just setup - I resent paying for setup instructions.

by Valentin D

Jan 19, 2016

Completely useless. Just a number of boring videos of what you may possibly learn in Data Science Specialization.

by Pablo A

Feb 15, 2016

Too basic content.

I have not learned anything with this course (installing R and RStudio should not be part of exercises or lectures).

I hope R programming course will be better