Chevron Left
The Horse Course: Introduction to Basic Care and Management に戻る

フロリダ大学(University of Florida) による The Horse Course: Introduction to Basic Care and Management の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
594件の評価
249件のレビュー

コースについて

There are over 100 million horses, donkeys and mules in the world today and owners of these animals can be found on almost every continent and in almost every society. The Horse Course will cover many unique aspects of equine ownership and touch upon the science behind many of today’s management practices....

人気のレビュー

TC

Sep 09, 2018

I have learnt so much by taking this course, so thorough and engaging, ill be sad to not be studying this on my evenings anymore for sure.\n\n100% recommend. Thankyou for holding such a great course.

LL

May 11, 2020

A very good overview of basic care and management of horses. Considering the forum through which it is presented, and the limitations of time and content, the course was very well presented.

フィルター:

The Horse Course: Introduction to Basic Care and Management: 26 - 50 / 249 レビュー

by Holly A

May 23, 2020

I'm applying for Vet school this year and I thought I'd try to boost my equine knowledge through this course and that's exactly what it did. Thank you very much for putting this together!

by Michéle L T

Sep 28, 2016

I have done a equine anatomy and physiology course through Toces in England, and have found when comparing this short online course very insightfull. I would love to do more of these

by Charlotte N

Apr 17, 2020

Great course - obviously based quite heavily on American terminology and diseases etc. For example they mention colourings we don’t have here is the UK and don’t mention piebalds and skewbalds which are some of the most common colours over here. But it filled a few days during the Coronavirus lockdown and I learnt a few bits and pieces which is awesome. Great instructor who is clearly very passionate about horses.

by Chantal R

May 16, 2020

This was an excellent course. I took the course to learn about horse care. The class was comprehensive, gave me the opportunity to interact with my peers, and the horses in my barn. I am also thankful for the instructor, Chris. We covered a great deal of material ranging from nutrition, to medical conditions, to feed, and behavior. I highly recommend this course and hope to see future courses available.

by Ignacio D B

Jul 08, 2020

I loved this course, I learned a lot, and I really had the opportunity to discover something amazing that I wouldn´t feel since I was a child, the love for these animals, especially horses. Lots of memories. Love how Dr. Chirs Mortensen was developing the different topics, sincerely the passion that he transmits in his classes is contagious and sincere, very valuable. I truly recommend it.

by Breanne M

Apr 20, 2020

I have been around horses all my life and looked after my own horses as long as I can remember. This course was really fantastic. I learnt so much! Its a great course for first time horse owners right through to experienced horse owners. I thoroughly enjoyed the teaching style, and the effort that went into everything. I would highly recommend this course to anyone.

by Helen J

Jun 23, 2020

This course definitely educated me on a wide variety of essential topics you need to know when managing horses. Dr Chris aims to make people better caretakers for these animals and he definitely achieved that goal. He gives very practical and relevant information and provides additional resources for students who want more detailed information on certain topics.

by Kateřina K

Apr 20, 2020

I honestly loved it. :) The course was simple yet interesting and the information in it was very well presented in an easily understandable and enjoyable way. I was a bit worried about the assignments being a little too difficult, but they were actually very fun and easy to do. I really recommend this course for everyone who loves horses. :)

by Claire T

Jan 09, 2017

Fascinating course, learned a lot of new things about horses! The lectures & homework were broken down into "bite-able" chunks (for someone who works full-time) and the lecturer is very engaging. Great that the University can offer this course for free to people who are interested in learning more about horses.

by Cristiana T

Aug 08, 2017

Fantastic course, I enjoyed every minute of it. Not only does it give in-depth information on horse care, nutrition, breeding, pasture management.. basically what you need to know to work with horses or start a horse business. I loved it and I hope there will be a follow-up or specialization available soon.

by Kathleen R

Jan 03, 2020

So far I have learned such valuable information. I have not had very much experience with horses other than riding lessons for the past few years. My main purpose for lessons is to travel the world doing horseback riding tours. Now I have a much deeper appreciation of these majestic animals.

by Lily A

Aug 27, 2018

Such a helpful and informative course! I loved taking it and it really helped me broaden my knowledge of horse care and medicine. This pairs very well with Cornell University's Summer Program Veterinary Medicine: Equine Practice (only available for high school students and by application only).

by Niki J

May 12, 2020

This was such a great course for me. I wanted to know more about nutrition and general welfare and management. It was great. I didn't do the last week as I have no interest in that aspect. I would have liked more on nutrition as it's so important. But it was a great course. Thank you!

by Paula G

May 16, 2020

I am a veterinary medicine student and I am from Colombia, I speak Spanish and my knowledge of English is basic. However, it seemed easy to understand this course, it seemed very nice and pleasant. Thanks for so much effort, I am very happy to have finished this beautiful course

by Charlotte G

Aug 07, 2016

A brilliant course, covered a lot for an introductory course and definitely exceeded my expectations. I knew nothing about horses before starting the course but did not struggle to follow along. Thank you to all the staff that worked on this course, I cannot rate it high enough.

by Roshni S

Feb 06, 2016

As a lifelong rider and passionate horse-person, I really enjoy learning about anything horse-related! This course is great - I like how it's organized, and the videos are concise and easy to comprehend. I'd definitely recommend this to everyone interested in the equine world!

by Ramona S

Jan 16, 2016

Best MOOC ever! I've taken a lot of MOOC courses, Coursera and others, but this has been the most fun I've ever had learning. And I learned more than I thought was possible without having equids myself. I never do assignments but these were fun and educational. Well Done !!!!!

by Amy H

Oct 01, 2019

This course was awesome. I would have loved to learn more about all the different types of horses in more detail but understand there is a lot of information to cover. As a first time horse owner I am so grateful to have been through this course. Thank you so very much :-)

by Jeanette D

Feb 06, 2017

This is a really comprehensive course with very clear information. There are assignments which really make you think about how you care for your horse. I've completed horse care course before, which have been face to face classes but this has been the best one by far.

by Sue K

Jun 25, 2020

This is a great course and has helped me to learn things I have been looking for but growing up in the city it is hard to find horse classes you can take and people actually know what they are teaching you. Thank you for this class. I hope to see more horse classes.

by Lorna S

Apr 26, 2020

This is a great introductory course! It covers a huge range of topics and provides suitable detail for each. The tutor is very enthusiastic and engaging. There are so many useful resources recommended on top of the lectures, quizzes and small assignments required.

by Amber B

Sep 20, 2017

Great course! I really enjoyed the material and the instructor. The only criticism I have, and it's only a slight one, as they did try to address some of this, but I feel like some of the care information is outdated, specifically on vaccines and deworming.

by Laura L

Jun 19, 2020

The class was very informative. As a beginner in the equid world I validated each weeks lesson with some experienced horse people. They were very impressed with the depth and breath of the information.

Many thanks to the UF team for putting this together.

by Jessica L

Nov 02, 2019

Such a great course! Professor Chris Mortenson, did a fantastic job really explaining and was very active with discussions. I hope in the future, he will extend the course or start a new course that is equine related. Overall, a really great course.

by Chloe R A

Jul 01, 2020

This course has taught me alot about horses . Now when i get my horse I will be able to take good care of it . I really enjoyed the assignments . Who knows maybe after highschool i will go to university of Florida to learn more about horses!