Chevron Left
The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910 に戻る

バージニア大学(University of Virginia) による The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910 の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
789件の評価
215件のレビュー

コースについて

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part Two begins early in the twentieth century, as older ways of doing things and habits of thought give way. What follows is an era of cataclysmic struggles over what ideas and institutions will take their place. The course concludes in the present day, as communities everywhere are transitioning into a new era of world history. Again we work hard to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? Again we are drawn to pivotal choices made at key moments by individuals and communities....

人気のレビュー

MN

Sep 24, 2017

excellent course for those who have not studied history as part of their academic curriculum. Course is slightly from American(USA) perspective of world events but nevertheless is highly informative.

RM

Dec 08, 2016

This course is enlightening in so many ways. This course not only answers the "What" about history, but also "Why", "Why not" and the overall perception, feelings of people of each era being taught.

フィルター:

The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910: 176 - 200 / 215 レビュー

by Remington C

Jan 13, 2016

Brilliant teacher, wonderful course. This course allows you to not just have a knowledge, but an understanding of the modern world.

by zachary r

Sep 27, 2016

Incredible lectures. One of the best courses on the site!

by Clio L

Mar 13, 2016

Just inspiring!!!!!

by Woody

Dec 10, 2015

This was a great experience. I consider myself fairly well informed on history and yet this course tied things together and gave perspective I never had. First time I've seen the interaction of European and American governments with Asia. Take Part One, then Part Two. You'll get context that will inform everything going on today. Hear Kennedy's thougtht processes as he deals with the Cuban Missile Crisis--in his own voice. Hear Lyndon Johnson agonize over whether he should commit troops to Vietnam. He almost sounds human! Dr. Zelikow is surprisingly engaging considering its a talking head video. I will search out more by this professor.

by Xinran L

Oct 02, 2018

Excellent course!

by Ritwik A

May 01, 2019

Excellently informative course.

by Ayush V

Apr 17, 2019

was easy to understand

by Dimitris S

May 11, 2019

Just like the sunbeams sneaked inside your office during the last minutes of your last presentation ...your arguments sneaked in our minds enlighting aspects of the human route and endeavour during the last two centuries. I'm so grateful.

by JG

Apr 30, 2019

Best course I've taken, by far.

by Shambhavi M

Apr 30, 2019

great learning experience

by Hasan R C

Jul 06, 2019

Wonderful course from a wonderful professor.

It is evident that a lot of effort was put to prepare this course. It is not possible to internalize all the knowledge and more importantly insights and perspectives given in this course just watching ones.

The professor's approach is neutral and rather than just laying out facts, more about questioning "why's" of those historical events by putting us into the minds of those people living at those times.

Thank you very much for all your and your team's efforts for putting such an outstanding and beneficial work.

by Lewis P

Jul 16, 2019

Great professor, great overview with a mix of super minute details and big picture narrative that makes this history of the 20th century fascinating and engaging.

by Oriol G E

Aug 03, 2019

It has been an incredible journey, very interesting about the interactions between states, not only at the political level, but also cultural and economic. Explaining situations from the point of view of people and leaders of the time... Really worthwhile. Thank you so much for making this course available!

by Art S

Aug 07, 2019

Excellent big picture objective overview of how the world got to where it is and some insights on where it may go from here.

by Clifford L B

Mar 11, 2017

Well presented with reasoned arguments, some of the slides needed to be clearer especially the maps

by Prasanna V R

Nov 19, 2015

Deep views. The why part o things is something very special.

by Brianna Z J

Oct 11, 2015

A

by Derick T

Sep 28, 2015

Well created lectures with clear ideas.

by Vipul A

Jan 20, 2017

Better way of showing how finance,politics and war can interact with each other.

by christophe s

May 18, 2016

Excellent course, simply.

by Alfredo T

Oct 01, 2015

It´s a very excellent course of history!

by cuneyt a

Feb 25, 2016

I think the course content is global history US in center.

by Bobby B

Nov 14, 2017

An ambitious and informative summary of the most relevant events that shaped our history over the past 100 years. This takes us from the early 20th century up to the financial crisis of 2008. Highly recommend this course if you are wanting to refresh your understanding of this time period.

by Iris v S

Apr 04, 2016

Very enjoyable and informative. I'd certainly take other courses by the same professor!

by Julie C

Apr 12, 2016

I found Part Two much easier to follow because I stopped taking notes. The professor's speaking style is so informally formal that it's easy to understand and remember. His passion for history is obvious when you combine looking and listening.