Chevron Left
Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows に戻る

テルアビブ大学(Tel Aviv University) による Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
665件の評価
193件のレビュー

コースについて

For centuries we have collectively marveled at plant diversity and form—from Charles Darwin’s early fascination with stems and flowers to Seymour Krelborn’s distorted doting in Little Shop of Horrors. This course intends to present an intriguing and scientifically valid look at how plants themselves experience the world—from the colors they see to the sensations they feel. Highlighting the latest research in genetics and more, we will delve into the inner lives of plants and draw parallels with the human senses to reveal that we have much more in common with sunflowers and oak trees than we may realize. We’ll learn how plants know up from down, how they know when a neighbor has been infested by a group of hungry beetles, and whether they appreciate the music you’ve been playing for them or if they’re just deaf to the sounds around them. We’ll explore definitions of memory and consciousness as they relate to plants in asking whether we can say that plants might even be aware of their surroundings. This highly interdisciplinary course meshes historical studies with cutting edge modern research and will be relevant to all humans who seek their place in nature. This class has three main goals: 1. To introduce you to basic plant biology by exploring plant senses (sight, smell, hearing, touch, taste, balance). 2. To introduce you to biological research and the scientific method. 3. To get the student to question life in general and what defines us as humans. Once you've taken this course, if you are interested in a more in-depth study of plants, check out my follow-up course, Fundamentals of Plant Biology (https://www.coursera.org/learn/plant-biology/home/welcome). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool...

人気のレビュー

RV

Dec 13, 2016

Love the clarity of the instructors deliver which is supported by great explanations and most importantly visual aids & demonstrations. Ps... Especially loved the bloopers at the end. Nice treat! :)

MR

Oct 01, 2016

So far, I'm really enjoying this course. I like the look of it, the professor is engaging and as a layperson I find the content very, very interesting. What a wonderful take on plant biology!

フィルター:

Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows: 51 - 75 / 189 レビュー

by Matthew J C

May 25, 2018

The professor really makes an effort to make the course interesting. A must-take!

by Lugrin J

Feb 17, 2018

A very en-lighting course. It highlights the complexity of plant life, shows the common origin of life at cellular level, makes through provoking but scientific comparison between human senses and plant environment awareness. I also bought the book "What a plant knows" (in french), I strongly recommend it as a companion of this course.

by Rachel H

Jun 05, 2018

Challenging and insightful course!

by Yarin

Dec 12, 2016

I think the tests were a bit difficult and the fact that many students taking this course aren't native speakers should be taken into consideration.

by Eleanor R W

Jul 19, 2017

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to take this wonderful course. It was laid out in a really interesting way; i very much enjoyed the focus on how plant senses were discovered - I never knew how prolific Darwin was in plant biology!

Awesome course, thank you for giving me access to it (and a certificate) for free. As soon as I get some more free time I hope to take the next course in the series.

by Ilaria C

Dec 23, 2017

The course is very well done. The teacher engages the students with interesting scientific theories and experiments very well explained. It is easy to understand even difficult concepts. The level is very high and I learned a lot. (There was so much to learn that I couldn't pass the final exam, I should do it again!). His English is good too.

by Ruth R

Oct 20, 2017

This was a great course! I loved learning about plants which to be honest i knew very little before completing this course and now I am very well informed and want to know more.

by Renata B

Feb 23, 2018

don't miss! really interesting

by Lucero H S

Nov 09, 2017

This is a great course! I loved it, in the final video I cried, tears of happiness, obviously!! Daniel is the best!

by Zvi Z D C

Jul 10, 2017

This is a wonderful course! There are minor problems in transcripts and in language usage. The course is very informative, the professor is very knowledgeable, light, and gives out the information in a delightful way, making the learning process fun fun fun! I am already heading to his next course, Fundamentals of plant biology! If the course seems interesting to you, you have to take it, i am telling you, you do, you will enjoy every bit of it!

by Jesús M M G

Jan 23, 2018

genial

by Audrey P

Sep 17, 2017

Very complet! A bit difficult because there is not always french subtitle and it could be nice to translate the tests in different languages. Pr. Chamovitz is great interlocutor

by Daniel K

Mar 31, 2018

very interesting! I have learned a lot

by Alessandra

May 17, 2017

Simply an amazing course!

by sara s

Feb 15, 2018

SUPER DUPER

COOL YUMMMY COURSE

by Elizabeth

Mar 09, 2018

Excellent instruction

by Lilian L

Mar 21, 2017

This course is amazing. A very interresting way to undestand the "inteligence" in the adaptation of plants in the enviroment. Professor Daniel Chamovitz is very competent and funny and teach

by vijayanand

Oct 11, 2017

lecture was very good. easy to understand. covered all aspects. videos and slides very clear.

by בר א

Aug 14, 2017

a very intersting and a bit challnaging course for people without backgroud in biology

by Fernando J d S

Oct 28, 2017

Congratulations, professor Daniel Chamovitz. I liked very much this course. I'm teaching biodesign in the course here in Belo Horizonte, Brazil, in the university, and I'll use this informations. Best Regards.

by Godineau E

Feb 26, 2017

A very interestinf course, well documented and explained by Dr. Chamowitz ! I highly recommend this course, I learnt a lot !

by Ivan S

Sep 24, 2017

Very well explained. Professor put some serious effort in this lectures and it is really useful for everybody who is working with plants, or just enjoying them, to pass this course :)

by Christine

Dec 11, 2016

After having seen "American Pie" , I don't see apple pie in the same way.

After following this training, Ii don't see apple tree in the same way !

More seriously,Ii'd like to thank you very much for this training which was both very interesting and understandable by majority of us.

The videos are very clear and, actually, you're not boring (;-))!

Thanks to Nir, as well.

I 've appreciated the mix of simple experiment results and theoretical explanation behind.

by Nguyễn  H P

Aug 03, 2017

This course is really helpful and interesting

by Yasmen G A

Oct 09, 2017

very good prof and good course