Chevron Left
Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows に戻る

テルアビブ大学(Tel Aviv University) による Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,633件の評価

コースについて

For centuries we have collectively marveled at plant diversity and form—from Charles Darwin’s early fascination with stems and flowers to Seymour Krelborn’s distorted doting in Little Shop of Horrors. This course intends to present an intriguing and scientifically valid look at how plants themselves experience the world—from the colors they see to the sensations they feel. Highlighting the latest research in genetics and more, we will delve into the inner lives of plants and draw parallels with the human senses to reveal that we have much more in common with sunflowers and oak trees than we may realize. We’ll learn how plants know up from down, how they know when a neighbor has been infested by a group of hungry beetles, and whether they appreciate the music you’ve been playing for them or if they’re just deaf to the sounds around them. We’ll explore definitions of memory and consciousness as they relate to plants in asking whether we can say that plants might even be aware of their surroundings. This highly interdisciplinary course meshes historical studies with cutting edge modern research and will be relevant to all humans who seek their place in nature. This class has three main goals: 1. To introduce you to basic plant biology by exploring plant senses (sight, smell, hearing, touch, taste, balance). 2. To introduce you to biological research and the scientific method. 3. To get the student to question life in general and what defines us as humans. Once you've taken this course, if you are interested in a more in-depth study of plants, check out my follow-up course, Fundamentals of Plant Biology (https://www.coursera.org/learn/plant-biology/home/welcome). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool...

人気のレビュー

DS

2021年8月14日

I really liked this course, the professor was engaging, clear, and informative, and did a great job explaining and simplifying the more complex biology topics so that it was digestible for beginners.

RV

2016年12月12日

Love the clarity of the instructors deliver which is supported by great explanations and most importantly visual aids & demonstrations. Ps... Especially loved the bloopers at the end. Nice treat! :)

フィルター:

Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows: 176 - 200 / 478 レビュー

by Dr. R M

2020年9月9日

Very informative course, all the lectures are very lucidly explained and quizzes are quite interesting, had a great learning experience

by Andrea V

2020年6月26日

Best teacher ever! Hard subject and complex ideas if new to biology but the teacher makes its fun and interesting, thank you very much!

by Sean K

2021年3月27日

Fun and interesting class, Professor Chamovitz is an approachable and likeable teacher. His style is relaxed and makes learning easy.

by Juan M A

2020年11月21日

I learned a lot from this course regarding plant biology! I wish to apply my learnings for food sustainabilty here in the Philippines

by Inostroza

2020年9月13日

This course was very challenge, this took me to the limits of my knowledge and comprension.

Thanks prof. Daniel

Ant Tel Aviv University

by Daniel C

2017年7月11日

This is an informative and enjoyable course by a professor who is passionate about his work and who cares about the world around him.

by Matthew R

2018年1月11日

Wonderful course - Dr. Chamovitz is an excellent teacher with extensive knowledge on the subject and an approachable teaching style.

by Rianna P S C

2020年11月19日

I appreciated how the course introduced discoveries as historical stories, and introduced the scientific process of these discovery

by Umar H

2019年12月31日

This course was just awesome and specially the professor is so cool and his method of teaching was so awesome really appreciated...

by Dizainier C

2019年10月23日

Very enlightening, I definitely appreciate this intensively precise lesson. Thanks Thousand times, Tel Aviv university&Coursera.

by Cynara F B

2017年10月28日

Excellent course! But it was not easy, I had to study a lot because my background was in civil engineering.

Thank you, professor!

by Dr S J

2021年5月16日

I enjoyed the clarity and enthusiasm with which the course was taught. would love to learn more may be at the end of this year.

by Renata d O A

2019年5月16日

Love it and I'd recomend this course to people I know. Now I'm gonna do the second part.

Thank coursera and Professor Chamovitz

by Andrés S

2017年8月11日

Really interestint course to discover and understand a lot of things on plants and their similarities or not to animals/humans.

by Deleted A

2021年1月25日

Outstanding Course. Professor Daniel is an outstanding tutor and Presenter. I have an all new respect for what a plant knows

by MOHAMED M P

2020年10月16日

I really enjoyed learning about the sensory world of plants and cell and it provide us with good foundations in this subject

by Ashley J S

2020年3月7日

Really good course, better than I wa expecting. Professor was easy to understand and made the subject even more interesting.

by Godineau E

2017年2月26日

A very interestinf course, well documented and explained by Dr. Chamowitz ! I highly recommend this course, I learnt a lot !

by Ricardo M

2020年5月1日

Great course, really changed my view on how plants are affected by their environment and how they are able to react to it.

by Dr. S B S

2020年7月10日

I was really exited to learn the subject through the way he taught us. He really made us to understand the plant feelings

by Silvia G

2020年5月18日

i highly recommend this great and interesting course!

The professor explains the arguments in a clear and stimulating way.

by Lucas C

2021年6月18日

Words cant describe how much I enjoyed this course. I would travel halfway around the world just to shake this mans hand

by L D

2022年2月3日

Daniel Chamovitz is an awesome educator and communicator - this course has revolutionised the way I think about plants!

by Craig F

2018年4月29日

This was an original and creative way of learning about plants! The instructor is enthusiastic and obviously an expert.

by Jean P G

2020年6月7日

I am pleasantly impressed with the quality of this course, it gave me great knowledge and I really enjoyed the calsess