Chevron Left
Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows に戻る

テルアビブ大学(Tel Aviv University) による Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
670件の評価
195件のレビュー

コースについて

For centuries we have collectively marveled at plant diversity and form—from Charles Darwin’s early fascination with stems and flowers to Seymour Krelborn’s distorted doting in Little Shop of Horrors. This course intends to present an intriguing and scientifically valid look at how plants themselves experience the world—from the colors they see to the sensations they feel. Highlighting the latest research in genetics and more, we will delve into the inner lives of plants and draw parallels with the human senses to reveal that we have much more in common with sunflowers and oak trees than we may realize. We’ll learn how plants know up from down, how they know when a neighbor has been infested by a group of hungry beetles, and whether they appreciate the music you’ve been playing for them or if they’re just deaf to the sounds around them. We’ll explore definitions of memory and consciousness as they relate to plants in asking whether we can say that plants might even be aware of their surroundings. This highly interdisciplinary course meshes historical studies with cutting edge modern research and will be relevant to all humans who seek their place in nature. This class has three main goals: 1. To introduce you to basic plant biology by exploring plant senses (sight, smell, hearing, touch, taste, balance). 2. To introduce you to biological research and the scientific method. 3. To get the student to question life in general and what defines us as humans. Once you've taken this course, if you are interested in a more in-depth study of plants, check out my follow-up course, Fundamentals of Plant Biology (https://www.coursera.org/learn/plant-biology/home/welcome). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool...

人気のレビュー

RV

Dec 13, 2016

Love the clarity of the instructors deliver which is supported by great explanations and most importantly visual aids & demonstrations. Ps... Especially loved the bloopers at the end. Nice treat! :)

MR

Oct 01, 2016

So far, I'm really enjoying this course. I like the look of it, the professor is engaging and as a layperson I find the content very, very interesting. What a wonderful take on plant biology!

フィルター:

Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows: 101 - 125 / 193 レビュー

by Alison C

Feb 22, 2018

I really enjoyed this and learnt a lot. I'm a zoologist currently studying botanical illustration, so this course was a great way to brush up on my botany. I read Prof Chamovitz' book a couple of years ago and liked his style, and this course is similar - very engaging but thorough. Some of the tests, especially the last one, are quite tough but I think that is a good thing, you have to pay attention to the material if you want to pass.

by ,jhgfhkgd

Nov 26, 2017

Very informative!

by Maria A D E

Oct 28, 2016

De una forma didáctica y amena enseñan principios básico de fisiología vegetal. Este curso es excelente.

by Lino S

Jan 04, 2018

Very interesting, thought provoking and excellently delivered. Gives you the basic concepts to go learning more!

by Walter D E C

Apr 11, 2018

It is a course with an interesting content. You think and learn about many natural process of plants.

by Bogdan A

Feb 03, 2017

Daniel is a great teacher and he can make complex things easier for understanding, and the course in general intrigues you to continue exploring the wonders of a 'plant world'

by John N

Sep 06, 2017

Amazing course, explaining plant evolution on molecular biology level, showing differences and similarities with animal kingdom with amazing clarity.

by Craig F

Apr 30, 2018

This was an original and creative way of learning about plants! The instructor is enthusiastic and obviously an expert.

by Filipp

Feb 21, 2017

Great course! Prof. Danny Chamovitz is a very good teacher and I feel that now I know much more about plant and life in general. Thank you for the course.

by Xiao t

May 31, 2017

An interesting and engaging course :) I have learnt a few fun facts about plants after completing this course.

by FATIMA A N A M

Mar 19, 2018

one of the most interesting and teasing course i have ever studied about plants

by Jonathan Z

May 01, 2018

The course was advanced level biology from a non-biology educated students perspective, but provided a wealth of information and understanding of plants for anyone willing to put forth the efforts to complete this course!

by Ooha M

Jan 29, 2018

Loved it! Gonna do the 2nd part too. Prof Chamovitz is amazing! <3

by Paul C H

Sep 04, 2017

Interesting and thought provoking with lots of nice examples of experiments that reveal what we currently know about plant senses and why we know what we do.Subject of course to future revision in the light of new knowledge and further experimental evidence. "What a plant Knows" also explores the nature of scientific investigation

by Jacqueline P

Oct 23, 2017

Wonderful course! I loved it!

by vasanth k

May 20, 2018

Learnt a lot on how plants interact with environment.

by Oren S

Nov 08, 2016

Will never look at plants the same again.

Fascinating course, great lecturer, easily understood, great delivery

by bhargavjanjam

May 02, 2017

Beautifully put

by Megan H

Jan 25, 2017

I love the content and the instructor. Well put together and easy to understand. I highly recommend for anyone interested in the subject!

by Marcos P O

Dec 29, 2016

For me, I still think is the most beautiful MOOC of all I have done.

by Lionel M

Apr 17, 2017

Despite getting a little bit lost in some technical details, I thought the course was still worthwhile and interesting, and i learned stacks of stuff that I should have know all my life. Well presented and entertaining, and just about the right demand on my time.

Some of the tests were a bit hard going because I felt that multiple answers made it more difficult to learn from wrong answers. I would have preferred more questions with a higher % requirement.

This is the second course I have done by these folk (I did part II first). They are good courses. Hope they decide to do one on pollination some time. Thanks.

by Maura R

Oct 01, 2016

So far, I'm really enjoying this course. I like the look of it, the professor is engaging and as a layperson I find the content very, very interesting. What a wonderful take on plant biology!

by Sara R

May 14, 2018

I had a great time following this course. The lecturer really makes plant understanding fun and (relatively) easy. Great lessons with many practical explanations, lots of experiments and science history.

I am a biotechnologist working in molecular biology and my studies were mostly focused on humans / mammals. I currently work on plants and wanted to deepen my knowledge of the basis of plant physiology. This course was a great introduction to plants!

Highly recommended.

by Benjamin P

Aug 28, 2017

Excellent Course with a great instructor!

by Itzelita P

Oct 22, 2017

Excelente curso para introducirte en el funcionamiento de las plantas