Chevron Left
Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows に戻る

テルアビブ大学(Tel Aviv University) による Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,633件の評価

コースについて

For centuries we have collectively marveled at plant diversity and form—from Charles Darwin’s early fascination with stems and flowers to Seymour Krelborn’s distorted doting in Little Shop of Horrors. This course intends to present an intriguing and scientifically valid look at how plants themselves experience the world—from the colors they see to the sensations they feel. Highlighting the latest research in genetics and more, we will delve into the inner lives of plants and draw parallels with the human senses to reveal that we have much more in common with sunflowers and oak trees than we may realize. We’ll learn how plants know up from down, how they know when a neighbor has been infested by a group of hungry beetles, and whether they appreciate the music you’ve been playing for them or if they’re just deaf to the sounds around them. We’ll explore definitions of memory and consciousness as they relate to plants in asking whether we can say that plants might even be aware of their surroundings. This highly interdisciplinary course meshes historical studies with cutting edge modern research and will be relevant to all humans who seek their place in nature. This class has three main goals: 1. To introduce you to basic plant biology by exploring plant senses (sight, smell, hearing, touch, taste, balance). 2. To introduce you to biological research and the scientific method. 3. To get the student to question life in general and what defines us as humans. Once you've taken this course, if you are interested in a more in-depth study of plants, check out my follow-up course, Fundamentals of Plant Biology (https://www.coursera.org/learn/plant-biology/home/welcome). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool...

人気のレビュー

DS

2021年8月14日

I really liked this course, the professor was engaging, clear, and informative, and did a great job explaining and simplifying the more complex biology topics so that it was digestible for beginners.

RV

2016年12月12日

Love the clarity of the instructors deliver which is supported by great explanations and most importantly visual aids & demonstrations. Ps... Especially loved the bloopers at the end. Nice treat! :)

フィルター:

Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows: 101 - 125 / 478 レビュー

by Beatriz G V

2020年5月19日

I enjoy this course very much! It was a very pleasant way to spend my weeks. Thank you, professor Daniel Chamovitz! I already love plants, but you make me even more interested in learn more about this amazing organisms.

by Agustin D

2020年2月26日

I found this course an amazing opportunity to understand in a better way how plants interact with their environment. It was also very interesting to understand many plant functions from the cell structure and receptors.

by Richard S

2017年7月18日

One of the most fulfilling courses I've taken in awhile. Had some really interesting facts about plants. Also, the teaching style of the instructor was GREAT! Something about the way he taught draws your attention.

by Nikolas M

2021年9月7日

What an amazing experience. Professor Chamovitz is an inspiring educator and I can't wait to pursue this area of science further. So glad I was able to participate. Thank you Professor, I appreciate your dedication.

by Adrian N A

2020年6月26日

Super interesting course about plant senses. This gave so much interesting knowledge about plants and how they behave, and why they behave. Daniel is a wonderful teacher & i had such a great time doing this course.

by Hari K K

2020年4月13日

This course is absolutely great!!! I enjoyed this course a lot. I am a student from Computer Science background with less knowledge in Plant Biology. Prof. Daniel made my learning cakewalk. Hats off to him!!!!

by Fernando J d S

2017年10月28日

Congratulations, professor Daniel Chamovitz. I liked very much this course. I'm teaching biodesign in the course here in Belo Horizonte, Brazil, in the university, and I'll use this informations. Best Regards.

by Vasseur B

2020年3月7日

Excellent class,

Professor Daniel Chamovitz teach plant biology with a very interesting approach of the subject. I definitely advise this class to anyone interested in beginning learning about the subject

by Naomi E W

2016年12月19日

This was great for me as I am just starting to study biology. It put complicated concepts into accessible language and was a great way to ease myself into studying. I'm looking forward to starting part 2!

by Brandy B

2020年5月31日

This class provided beneficial education in plant biology and botany. I thoroughly enjoyed the way the material was presented and the various levels of complexity that was taught. This was a great class!

by Alejandra M M S

2020年4月29日

This course was beyond my expectations, it is amazing to understand what a plant sees, feels and how it grows. The proffesor is very good and the drawings are helpful to understand biology for everyone.

by Chia C L

2018年9月3日

I did this course for pure curiosity. They may be some terms I find it hard to remember but the course content is interesting enough to keep me going.

Thank you, plants! Thank you professor! Well done!

by D S

2021年8月14日

I really liked this course, the professor was engaging, clear, and informative, and did a great job explaining and simplifying the more complex biology topics so that it was digestible for beginners.

by Camila F D

2020年10月26日

O curso é ótimo e é possível apreender muita coisa. Para algumas pessoas com nível mais avançado de biologia e fisiologia vegetal o curso pode parecer introdutório, mas vale a pena fazer. Recomendo!

by Dean P

2018年8月29日

One of the best courses I have ever watched online. Great choice, and really great teaching. Organized stuff, I wouldn't expect something less from an Israeli University professor. Great work!

by Lilian L

2017年3月21日

This course is amazing. A very interresting way to undestand the "inteligence" in the adaptation of plants in the enviroment. Professor Daniel Chamovitz is very competent and funny and teach

by Abdur R Y

2020年6月27日

Excellent course, with a terrific Teacher explaining the subject. Dr Shamovitz keeps you intrigued with the way he presents his knowledge. Looking forward to more courses conducted by him

by Miriam D

2022年5月6日

T​hank you Pr. Chamovitz for making this amazing knowledge accessible to all! Your teaching will support me going ahead with my entrepreneurial project which is about ecology and IA.

by Volodya T

2021年11月20日

Thanks for the course and the book. It was interesting and useful. Course completion will help me to substantiate to my relatives my willingness to buy a parcel of land for gardening.

by Felix K

2020年9月13日

This course is excellent for someone who has minimal understanding about plants or a beginner. Very informative and knowledge densed course. Explained in the most concise way. Thanks!

by José A H S

2020年6月13日

Excelente curso, me siento realmente fascinado. Sin duda alguna puedo decir que me ha cambiado la forma de ver las plantas, además de incrementar mi interés por la fisiología vegetal.

by Ivan S

2017年9月24日

Very well explained. Professor put some serious effort in this lectures and it is really useful for everybody who is working with plants, or just enjoying them, to pass this course :)

by Larissa D

2019年9月18日

I started this course with very little knowledge of biology and finished it with a solid foundation in plant biology. I'd recommend it to anybody wanting to learn more about plants.

by Jon P

2019年11月17日

Daniel Chamovitz is a very good teacher, the material is a clearly presented. There is also a lot of discussion of experiments which underpin the ideas in the course in a nice way.

by Victor Z

2019年2月6日

I really liked the clear and neat way the instructor explains every single point with a very natura aproach, the visual explanations and demonstrationswere great and so detaieled