Chevron Left
Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows に戻る

テルアビブ大学(Tel Aviv University) による Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,001件の評価
295件のレビュー

コースについて

For centuries we have collectively marveled at plant diversity and form—from Charles Darwin’s early fascination with stems and flowers to Seymour Krelborn’s distorted doting in Little Shop of Horrors. This course intends to present an intriguing and scientifically valid look at how plants themselves experience the world—from the colors they see to the sensations they feel. Highlighting the latest research in genetics and more, we will delve into the inner lives of plants and draw parallels with the human senses to reveal that we have much more in common with sunflowers and oak trees than we may realize. We’ll learn how plants know up from down, how they know when a neighbor has been infested by a group of hungry beetles, and whether they appreciate the music you’ve been playing for them or if they’re just deaf to the sounds around them. We’ll explore definitions of memory and consciousness as they relate to plants in asking whether we can say that plants might even be aware of their surroundings. This highly interdisciplinary course meshes historical studies with cutting edge modern research and will be relevant to all humans who seek their place in nature. This class has three main goals: 1. To introduce you to basic plant biology by exploring plant senses (sight, smell, hearing, touch, taste, balance). 2. To introduce you to biological research and the scientific method. 3. To get the student to question life in general and what defines us as humans. Once you've taken this course, if you are interested in a more in-depth study of plants, check out my follow-up course, Fundamentals of Plant Biology (https://www.coursera.org/learn/plant-biology/home/welcome). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool...

人気のレビュー

RV

Dec 13, 2016

Love the clarity of the instructors deliver which is supported by great explanations and most importantly visual aids & demonstrations. Ps... Especially loved the bloopers at the end. Nice treat! :)

A

Mar 04, 2020

A perfect course to understand all senses of plants in a straightforward way and I must admit the way professor Daniel chamovitz helped me to better acknowledge this course was satisfactory for me.

フィルター:

Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows: 126 - 150 / 293 レビュー

by Cotek T

Apr 30, 2020

One of the best courses I have ever undertaken. The knowledge and teaching style of prof. Chamovitz is awesome.

Thanks

by Debasish P

May 06, 2018

I am very happy to complete this course. I am looking for more courses from Professor Dr. Daneil Chamovitz in future.

by TEY W H

Aug 09, 2017

Great Lecturer and good content! plus it is really fun to hear and watch the videos. Thank you for making this course

by Lucero H S

Nov 09, 2017

This is a great course! I loved it, in the final video I cried, tears of happiness, obviously!! Daniel is the best!

by Janine A R

Jun 19, 2020

A very good course, love the videos and way the information is explained, I have learnt so much. thank you. Janine

by Leticia X C R

Jun 07, 2020

I love this course. I learned a lot and it just opened my curiosity on plants even more. The lecturer is amazing.

by Lino S

Jan 04, 2018

Very interesting, thought provoking and excellently delivered. Gives you the basic concepts to go learning more!

by Xiao t

May 31, 2017

An interesting and engaging course :) I have learnt a few fun facts about plants after completing this course.

by Oren S

Nov 08, 2016

Will never look at plants the same again.

Fascinating course, great lecturer, easily understood, great delivery

by Juan S H

Mar 10, 2019

Este curso es muy bueno, ayudan a entender de manera muy didáctica los mecanismos sensoriales de las plantas.

by Brita F

Feb 18, 2018

An excellent course!!! It is well presented and provides a detailed insight into the sensory world of plants.

by Anushka A

Jul 04, 2020

Amazing course and great explanation. This course has enabled me to look at plants in a whole new light.

by Maria A D E

Oct 28, 2016

De una forma didáctica y amena enseñan principios básico de fisiología vegetal. Este curso es excelente.

by Linh V H

Feb 08, 2020

I really want to suggest this course to those who are keen on botany, agriculture and plant physiology.

by Elena E

May 27, 2020

Great course, great instructor! Informative and entertaining! (Yes, the course AND the instructor :) )

by Leonardo C d S

May 06, 2020

Gostei bastante do curso, muito didático e envolvente ! Recomendo aos apaixonados pelo mundo vegetal !

by Walter D E C

Apr 11, 2018

It is a course with an interesting content. You think and learn about many natural process of plants.

by Madelaine K

Oct 03, 2018

Great way to be introduced to plants. Love the progression through the different senses of a plant.

by Adrián D

Jul 08, 2018

Excellent course, didactive, easy to follow and not extenuating. Looking forward to the next part!

by Sharavanakkumar S

May 18, 2020

It is very interesting, I like the way of explaining concepts by using analogy by the instructor.

by Bahaar H

Dec 01, 2019

I loved the course and the wonderful and easy way it was explained. The professor was excellent.

by Yu-Ping, M

Jan 05, 2018

Very interesting. Simple words with vivid description let me understand the concept easily. : )

by vijayanand

Oct 11, 2017

lecture was very good. easy to understand. covered all aspects. videos and slides very clear.

by Thomas S

Jun 15, 2020

Great course. So much information to learn. Delivered in a concise, interesting and fun way.

by Priscila F d S

Aug 15, 2017

I loved the course! I never thought studying about plants was so intriguing and fascinating.