Chevron Left
Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows に戻る

テルアビブ大学(Tel Aviv University) による Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
917件の評価
266件のレビュー

コースについて

For centuries we have collectively marveled at plant diversity and form—from Charles Darwin’s early fascination with stems and flowers to Seymour Krelborn’s distorted doting in Little Shop of Horrors. This course intends to present an intriguing and scientifically valid look at how plants themselves experience the world—from the colors they see to the sensations they feel. Highlighting the latest research in genetics and more, we will delve into the inner lives of plants and draw parallels with the human senses to reveal that we have much more in common with sunflowers and oak trees than we may realize. We’ll learn how plants know up from down, how they know when a neighbor has been infested by a group of hungry beetles, and whether they appreciate the music you’ve been playing for them or if they’re just deaf to the sounds around them. We’ll explore definitions of memory and consciousness as they relate to plants in asking whether we can say that plants might even be aware of their surroundings. This highly interdisciplinary course meshes historical studies with cutting edge modern research and will be relevant to all humans who seek their place in nature. This class has three main goals: 1. To introduce you to basic plant biology by exploring plant senses (sight, smell, hearing, touch, taste, balance). 2. To introduce you to biological research and the scientific method. 3. To get the student to question life in general and what defines us as humans. Once you've taken this course, if you are interested in a more in-depth study of plants, check out my follow-up course, Fundamentals of Plant Biology (https://www.coursera.org/learn/plant-biology/home/welcome). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool...

人気のレビュー

RV

Dec 13, 2016

Love the clarity of the instructors deliver which is supported by great explanations and most importantly visual aids & demonstrations. Ps... Especially loved the bloopers at the end. Nice treat! :)

A

Mar 04, 2020

A perfect course to understand all senses of plants in a straightforward way and I must admit the way professor Daniel chamovitz helped me to better acknowledge this course was satisfactory for me.

フィルター:

Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows: 76 - 100 / 263 レビュー

by Ivan S

Sep 24, 2017

Very well explained. Professor put some serious effort in this lectures and it is really useful for everybody who is working with plants, or just enjoying them, to pass this course :)

by Larissa D

Sep 18, 2019

I started this course with very little knowledge of biology and finished it with a solid foundation in plant biology. I'd recommend it to anybody wanting to learn more about plants.

by Jon P

Nov 17, 2019

Daniel Chamovitz is a very good teacher, the material is a clearly presented. There is also a lot of discussion of experiments which underpin the ideas in the course in a nice way.

by Victor Z

Feb 06, 2019

I really liked the clear and neat way the instructor explains every single point with a very natura aproach, the visual explanations and demonstrationswere great and so detaieled

by Ruth R

Oct 20, 2017

This was a great course! I loved learning about plants which to be honest i knew very little before completing this course and now I am very well informed and want to know more.

by Audrey P

Sep 17, 2017

Very complet! A bit difficult because there is not always french subtitle and it could be nice to translate the tests in different languages. Pr. Chamovitz is great interlocutor

by Mariela E O

May 15, 2020

Very informative. As a recent grad in Environmental Science I found this course expanded my basic knowledge of plant biology and it is something I will be using in the future.

by Bogdan A

Feb 03, 2017

Daniel is a great teacher and he can make complex things easier for understanding, and the course in general intrigues you to continue exploring the wonders of a 'plant world'

by Рачковская А Н

May 11, 2020

Course was really interesting and helpful. I understood the teacher pretty well. I learn many new things,consolidated my knowledge. I plan attend the second part of course

by Cassie B

Feb 04, 2020

the information presented is relatable and makes total sense-largely due to Proffessor Chamovitz' explanations. I thoroughly enjoyed this course, can't wait for part two!

by Izumi S

Aug 29, 2019

It was very good and I studied many thing. I want to study more thing with this.

I think plants are very interesting and it is very uesful.

It made us rich and happy.

by Ivan A N B

Mar 01, 2018

Es un curso excelente impartido por un profesor que es excepcionalmente profesional y que se nota que ama las plantas, excelente curso acerca de las plantas.

by Paulina A O d Z

May 16, 2019

This is a GREAT course! I learned a lot! The only thing I would suggest is to take the "Part II" first, because the "Part I" is more advanced and difficult.

by Edimilson J D O

Jun 06, 2017

I loved the course, Prof. Chamovitz is very didactic making the content of the course easily assimilable even for those who are not from the botanic area.

by Filipp

Feb 21, 2017

Great course! Prof. Danny Chamovitz is a very good teacher and I feel that now I know much more about plant and life in general. Thank you for the course.

by Lucas M

Mar 12, 2019

Awesome course! The teacher is really nice and gives a good comprehension of what a plant knows and how scientists develop their hypothesis and results.

by John N

Sep 06, 2017

Amazing course, explaining plant evolution on molecular biology level, showing differences and similarities with animal kingdom with amazing clarity.

by Dylan L

Mar 06, 2019

love it so far. Its informative and fits my schedule. i love that i can watch the videos as much as needed to learn, and that doesnt put anyone out.

by Yarin

Dec 12, 2016

I think the tests were a bit difficult and the fact that many students taking this course aren't native speakers should be taken into consideration.

by Mohamed A

Jul 26, 2017

This is a great introductory course to Plant Genetics! Be sure to take notes so that you can easily answer the final quiz by the end of the course

by Jie W

Dec 28, 2018

I really like this course. I never thought plant science could be so interesting to learn. Moreover, it could help with my furture research work

by Larisa T M

Nov 02, 2018

Este curso es muy claro. Comienza con los más sencillo y va subiendo poco a poco el nivel de la información.

Entretenido, completo y estimulante.

by matthew s

Sep 08, 2017

A great study and very enjoyable.

Plants are food for thought as well as the table; who would have thought it.

Thanks for creating this course !

by Rosemary M

Apr 30, 2020

Super-fun course for anyone interested in plant biology. Danny Chamovitz is a very engaging and clear lecturer. Looking forward to part two!

by Alejandro M M

Aug 07, 2019

Dr. Chamovitz is able to expose complex and interesting topics in a very engaging way! I enjoyed all the lectures of this course. Thank you!